Our Board of Directors sets the strategic direction of Wakatū. The Wakatū board is made up of seven Directors plus one Associate Director, drawn from the Owners of the Incorporation. Appointment on the Board is for a term of three years and is made via an election process by the Owners. Terms are staggered so that some Directors’ terms expire each year, although Directors may stand for re-election.

This rotation allows for continuity and stability at board level while providing for the democratic election of new Directors.

This year the terms of two Directors, Paul Morgan and Barney Thomas are set to expire at the 2019 Annual General Meeting, held in Nelson on Saturday 30 November 2019.

Paul and Barney are both all eligible for re-election for a further term of office and have advised they will be standing for re-election.

As in previous years, the rotation also provides the opportunity for new Directors to be nominated to the Board, and nominations are welcome.

All nominations must be made by an Owner in writing.

You can request a nomination form by emailing celia@wakatu.org or phoning +64 3 539 0811

On the nomination form, please include brief details about the nominee. The form must also include the signed approval of the nominee to his/her nomination.

Completed nomination forms must be lodged by 5pm, Friday 13 September 2019 by sending to:

- Kerensa Johnston, Chief Executive, Wakatū Incorporation, PO Box 440, Nelson 7040

- or by email to celia@wakatu.org with Wakatū Board nomination in the subject line.

Information about the election will be circulated to Owners with the Notice of Meeting for the 2019 Annual General Meeting.

You can read more about the Wakatū Board on our website: